Skip to main content
Pure Technical Services

Cloud Block Store - Regions Support

Currently viewing public documentation. Please login to access the full scope of documentation.

AWS Regions

6.1.9 release update. New regional added: eu-north-1 (Stockholm).

6.1.8 release update. New regions added: sa-east-1 (Sao Paulo), eu-west-3 (Paris). 

Region Name Region Code Supported Notes
US East (Ohio) us-east-2 Yes  
US East (N. Virginia) us-east-1 Yes *
US West (N. California) us-west-1 Yes  
US West (Oregon) us-west-2 Yes *, **
AWS GovCloud (US-East) us-goveast-1 Yes i3en nor io2 is currently supported, so i3 and io1 will be used instead.
AWS GovCloud (US-West) us-govwest-1 Yes  
Africa (Cape Town) af-south-1 No ***
Asia Pacific (Hong Kong) ap-east-1 No ***
Asia Pacific (Mumbai) ap-south-1 Yes *
Asia Pacific (Osaka) ap-northeast-3 No ***
Asia Pacific (Seoul) ap-northeast-2 Yes  
Asia Pacific (Singapore) ap-southeast-1 Yes *
Asia Pacific (Sydney) ap-southeast-2 Yes  
Asia Pacific (Tokyo) ap-northeast-1 Yes  
Canada (Central) ca-central-1 Yes  
China (Beijing) cn-north-1 No ***
China (Ningxia) cn-northwest-1 No ***
Europe (Frankfurt) eu-central-1 Yes *
Europe (Ireland) eu-west-1 Yes  
Europe (London) eu-west-2 Yes *
Europe (Paris) eu-west-3 Yes  
Europe (Milan) eu-south-1 No ***
Europe (Stockholm) eu-north-1 Yes  
Middle East (Bahrain) me-south-1 No ***
South America (São Paulo) sa-east-1 Yes  

These regions are generally supported. However, there are some Availability Zones within these regions that do not have the required c5n.9xlarge and c5n.18xlarge instances for Cloud Block Store. These Availability Zones are different for every customer. Customers can contact AWS Support to find out which Availability Zone does not include support for c5n.9xlarge and c5n.18xlarge instances, and avoid deploying Cloud Block Store in subnets tied to these Availability Zones.

** Cloud Block Store in an ActiveCluster configuration is not supported in Oregon if using with Pure1 Mediator. Customers who want to deploy Cloud Block Store with ActiveCluster in Oregon must use the On-Premises Mediator.

*** These regions are not supported because the Region or all the Availability Zone within these regions do not include support for one or more instances or service that Cloud Block Store utilizes, Check the appendix below for more details.

Refer to this How-To KB to check if AWS instances used with CBS deployment are available. 
How to Check Instance Availability Required for Pure Cloud Block Store Deployment


Azure Regions

 

Region Name Region Code Supported Notes
(US) Central US centralus  Yes  
(US) East US eastus Yes

 

(US) East US 2 eastus2 Yes  
(US) North Central US northcentralus No  
(US) South Central US southcentralus  Yes1  
(US) West Central US  westcentralus No  
(US) West US westus  Yes  
(US) West US 2 westus2 Yes  
(Canada) Canada Central canadacentral Yes  
(Canada) Canada East canadaeast No  
(Europe) North Europe northeurope  Yes  
(Europe) West Europe westeurope  Yes  
(Europe) UK South uksouth Yes  
(Europe) UK West ukwest No  
(Europe) France Central francecentral Yes  
(Europe) Germany West Central germanywestcentral Yes  
(Europe) Norway East norwayeast No  
(Europe) Switzerland North switzerlandnorth No  
(Asia Pacific) East Asia   No  
(Asia Pacific) Southeast Asia southeastasia Yes  
(Asia Pacific) Japan East japaneast Yes  
(Asia Pacific) Japan West japanwest No  
(Asia Pacific) Korea Central koreacentral No  
(Asia Pacific) Korea South koreasouth No  
(Asia Pacific) Australia East australiaeast  Yes  
(Asia Pacific) Australia Southeast australiasoutheast No  
(Asia Pacific) Australia Central australiacentral No  
(India) Central India centralindia No  
(India) South India southindia No  
(India) West India westindia No  
(South America) Brazil South brazilsouth No  
(Africa) South Africa North southafricanorth No  
(Middle East) UAE North uaenorth No  
(China) China East n/a No  
(China) China East 2  n/a No  
(China) China North n/a No  
(China) China North 2 n/a No  
(US) US DoD Central n/a No  
(US) US DoD East n/a No  
(US) US Gov Arizona n/a No  
(US) US Gov Texas n/a No  
(US) US Gov Virginia n/a No  

1 LRS Ultra SSD is only available in 1 of the availability zones. Please see the below linked KB to identify supported zones in this region.

Refer to this How-To KB to check if Azure instances and disks used with CBS deployment are available. 
How to Check Instance Availability Required for Pure Cloud Block Store Deployment